#43 - Hand of the Week - Posted July 28, 2018

Some fundamental guidelines to consider.
Dealer West. None Vulnerable

Try bidding the hands before checking the
bidding below.

See next page for bidding analysis, actual
results with real players, the computer-
generated prediction and thoughts on what
you might learn from this game.

Dlr: West
Vul: Nane

aK9 63
¥5 2

+K Q53
#1106

al5 4
YAKI18063
+1

&A K3

[ North |
8
| South |

4Q 10 2
vi07 4
#AI 76
&Q87

ap 37
¥YQ9
#1098 2
&0 54 2

Bidding: (two possibilities)

W Pass

N 1y Showing 5-card major (or more), 5 hearts, 12-21 pts.

E Pass

S PA 4 Has 3 cards to support North’s major suit, showing 6-9 pts.

W Pass | East and West now pass
With 16 pts, invite to game. North should also consider the 9t trump which
adds extra strength, plus the singleton. North’s hand is worth about 19 pts

N 3 now. North might just bid 4¥ because there is the danger that South could
pass a 3¥ invitation.

S 4v If North did not take it to game, South would now. With the knowledge that
North has at least 16 pts, South knows game is there.
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Computer-Generated Prediction and Actual Results:

N/S should all make 59, but not all did. al5 4
YAKIS63
The best scores for E/W happened because N/S wul: None *4
did not bid to game. Often, players benefit &A K3
because of the poor bidding skills of the &K 9 63 iarth | 4A 8 7
opponents, and not because of anything they did v5 2 vQ o
or did not do. Bridge is sometimes unfair this ¢KQ 53 8 e109 8 2
way. 23106 R 20542
We were #2 N/S and we got the top board, = 40 10 2 . g:‘;g;
bidding 4¥ and making 69¥, two overtricks. Most : = vi0o 7 4 s GsE0
others made 4% or 5¥ and three N/S pairs did not 5 #A1T7 6
bid to game. We wondered if we missed bidding a +087
slam, but we should not have made a slam if the
defence played better. Board No 8 None Vul Dealer West
Pairs Condract Scores Points
What is there to learn from this game? S EIEOM Ak (e Dol N0 [N S S
1 10 4% N 5 450 7. 3%
East led the €10. North (me) played the #Ace T ), S, L Lo Al
from dummy and took the trick. I led another A S Wl S ] L
diamond from dummy. West played the King or e S SRR L V2 3%
Queen, hoping those two cards would take a trick |7 2 4% N 5 430 V2 3%
or two now that the Ace was gone. I ruffed it. 6 7 v N4 420 3 7
7 0 3 N 5 200 2 9
Guideline: With 9 trump: “8 Ever, 9 Never” — g8 12 49 N 4 420 3 v
meaning, with 9 trump missing the Queen, do not |¢ 2 4% N 5 450 72 3%
try a finesse (never). As with many bridge 0 4 3 N 4 170 0% 10%
guidelines, this strategy is not always successful, |11 & 4% M 5 450 7. 34
but if you practice it consistently, the percentages |12 = 29 N 4 170 0%  10%

should be on your side.

I followed that rule, even though I know it does not always work, and played the YAce and

¥King, pulling all the trump. If the finesse was tried, East’'s YQueen would take a trick which
must have happened to those four who took 10 tricks only.

In our game, the problem for East/West occurred when a small spade was led from dummy
and West did not play the #King — the rule is that 2" hand usually plays low. North played

the #Jack and East ducked the #Ace. Perhaps East believed that you shouldn’t take a trick
with the Ace the first time the suit is led. At some point, East discarded a spade also and

when West played his #King, thinking that East could not have the #Ace, East was forced to
play the #Ace on the same trick, so North took two tricks in spades.

If you are playing against a suit contract, think carefully before you “duck” your Ace. You
might not get another chance to play it as the opponents might be able to discard that suit
and trump your Ace later. Also, your partner could have the King and does not want to lead
away from it. If you are playing against a NT contract, then it may be a good idea to “duck”
the Ace. Sometimes not then either. When I am Declarer, I am always a little bit gleeful
(but quietly so) when I see my opponents’ Ace and King both fall on the same trick when
two tricks could have been taken with them earlier in the game. An undeserved trick for me
and much appreciated. But in this case, thanking them would show poor manners.
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